Oracle SQL - Ways to Work on it

Oracle SQL - Ways to Work on it

·

3 min read

Introduction

SQL, yes and it's not MYSQL. SQL is a Structured Query Language, it is a language that is used to communicate with the database whereas MYSQL is an open-source database product(RDBMS) that allows users to keep the data organized in a database. I will write another article on this topic specifically. Let's move on.

Oracle has different products and one of the famous ones other than JAVA is SQL. Some call it 'S' 'Q' 'L' and some call it 'cequel'. I am the first kind of person.

When I started practicing the SQL, I discussed it with my friends/seniors and they recommended my w3schools.com. I moved to MYSQL Workbench to get some hands-on experience on it but it is slightly different from SQL.

Lets Move Directly on Main Thing

So after a quite research and help from the Oracle Twitter team, I explored many ways to work on it. The best part is all of them are free. They are listed below.

1. Online Yes, we can practice online using the Oracle Apex tool. It is an online tool where you can do almost everything possible related to SQL.

LiveSQL

2.Application I have mentioned that a few things that you cannot do in an online tool but do not restrict yourself and try another great application where you can become a master in SQL. So for that, you have to download the tool called Oracle Database Express Edition(XE). In order to get the latest database, you can download Database 19c or 21c from Oracle official website. Links are as follows.

Database XE OR Oracle Database 19c/21c

Now, You may need SQL Developer to perform or practice queries. Please follow the link below to download the same.

SQL Developer

If you do not want to use any IDE then you can use your Terminal which is already there in your system.

3. Virtualization Another great tool, I like the most(WHY? I will tell you in the end). First of all, I hope you have heard of another Oracle free application VirtualBox, if not then no problem. Now you read it, go search it online. It is really cool.

VM With DataBase

Note: It's taking too much space on SSD/HDD so prefer not to save on your System Drive(C Drive).

Final Note I prefer Virtualization as it has many good features and safety. DataBase XE was heavy on memory and occupied a lot of space on the C drive so I had to remove it. Sad Note for MAC users, Database XE will not work for you as well as M1 chip from 2020 as has some issues with virtualization(Please try once on your system, may it works for you). For some reference, please follow this Twitter Thread and See what Oracle's Product Manager says

Please support the community and my Twitter account for another awesome article on SQL/PL-SQL.